Emma in Euroland

Tea, Cake and Travel: a year abroad in Germany

The road to recovery.

Finally, I am feeling better. Small things completely exhaust me, but I think that’s just my body’s way of telling me to take it easy. Those who know me will know that this is not something I find easy to do and despite there being no trams running, I decided that I couldn’t miss the carnival celebrations in town on Sunday. This trip was also down to a desire to eat my body weight in mini eggs (my latest endless craving since I’ve been ill). I first walked all the way to the Hauptbahnhof which is the best part of 3km away but it is downhill and the shops there are actually open on a Sunday. Swings and roundabouts. It’s a Sunday afternoon walk which I make often and I was desperate to get out of the house.

Domplatz slowly filling up. Here, a load of adult males dressed as pink rabbits. Yep!

Domplatz slowly filling up. Here, a load of adult males dressed as pink rabbits. Yep!

On my way past Domplatz, I was reminded of the carnival and couldn’t bring myself to go home without seeing it. However, I had quite a lot of time to kill and not very much to do in the meantime. After wandering around looking at the floats and finding a good place to stand to watch the parade, I had to just stand and wait. It was absolutely freezing and despite wearing gloves, I quickly couldn’t feel the ends of my fingers. It’s funny how numbness can be painful, isn’t it?

Crowds dressed up, heading to Domplatz.

Crowds dressed up, heading to Domplatz.

I did find a good way to pass the time though. The Germans love carnival. They also love to dress up for it. I have long wanted to be in Venice during carnival and see all the beautiful masks and costumes. Let’s just say the Germans don’t possess the elegance of the Italians and it would seem that wearing ‘the most ridiculous thing we can find‘ was the order of the day. Failing that, just wear a wig. Yes, some of these were long and neon coloured but others were just normal wigs, worn under a normal hat with normal clothes. That was just plain weird. I saw Elvis and criminals and cowboys and clowns and this was just the adults! I go to university in a city where a night out is not a night out if a dress-up theme isn’t involved. However, the sheer volume and variety was really a feast for the eyes.

Two adult male bumblebees. Yes, they are wearing dresses.

Two adult male bumblebees. Yes, they are wearing dresses.

Unfortunately, I think the multicoloured coats are not part of the costume.

Unfortunately, I think the multicoloured coats are not part of the costume.

Just a casual neon wig....

Just a casual neon wig….

Again, adult male girl smurfs. Lots of pent up crossdressing urges?

Again, adult male girl smurfs. Lots of pent up crossdressing urges?

 

Dressing up isn't just for the young!

Dressing up isn’t just for the young!

The carnival itself was really nice. The floats were interesting, my particular favourites being the London bus (YES!) and the tractor with an Erfurter Puffbohne sitting on top. There were lots of men dressed as women throwing sweets at the crowds and some great music going on too. The best was a walking band who were all dressed as some sort of tribal animal. The music was brilliant and their costumes scary. It was great.

Scary but brilliant tribal monsters.

Scary but brilliant tribal monsters.

A male cinderella giving out sweets!

A male cinderella giving out sweets!

 

I didn’t stay to watch the whole thing. I was completely exhausted but couldn’t leave without seeing the London bus pass by :). Luckily, there was a special bus going to the university and I arrived a few minutes before it left. Perfect! I got in and wrapped up warm and drank lots and lots of tea. Finally being about to stomach tea has made my life totally worthwhile again :).

The number 23!

The number 23!

I am finally going back to school tomorrow and then I’m going to Prague on Saturday! It’s all go and talks of a trip to Munich in March are finally coming together. It’s wonderful to feel like a normal person again and feel like I can make the most of my final few months abroad. In many ways, I just want to go home and I do really miss everyone and our lives together. I’m having a great time though and I will not waste another moment. Bring on Prague! :).

2 Comments

  1. katie

    Oh how fun! I used to live in New Orleans and absolutely loved Mardi Gras. There were so many hilarious costumes and great floats. It was the best. And I’m so excited for you to visit Prague. I loved it there so much. I can’t wait to hear about your experience.

    • Oh that’s lovely, we don’t celebrate it in the UK so it was quite an experience :). I had amazing time in Prague, I hope you enjoy reading about it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

