Emma in Euroland

Tea, Cake and Travel: a year abroad in Germany

Reader Appreciation Award

Some more thanks are in order, I have received another award! First, I must gratefully thank Hayleigh, not only for her nomination but also for her wonderful blog, Student Living and Me. A university student like me, she is experiencing a rather different part of life as a young student in Britain and her honest approach to it is incredibly refreshing. She is one of few blogs that I always click on when she appears in my reader and she never ceases to make me step back and appreciate what it is that we have now. Thank you Hayleigh!

So, the award. It is called the Reader Appreciation Award and it calls for a number of things: 1. Link back to the person who nominated you. 2. Attach the icon to your site. 3. Answer the questions. 4. Nominate people whose blogs you love.

Questions for me:

Who is your favourite actor/actress?

That is a hard one for me. I really love film but I can only ever seem to picture the films an actor or actress was in, not them themselves. Brendan Gleeson was brilliant in both The Guard and In Bruges. Ryan Gosling was breathtaking in Drive. Colin Firth as Mr Darcy? Yes, please!

What is your all time favourite book?

Ever since I first read it, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee has stood with me. It’s honesty about prejudice, the innocence and naivety of Scout, the realisations of Jem and the strong teachings of Atticus, I think we all have something to learn in there somewhere.

If you could have one superpower for the day, what would it be and why?

I didn’t have to think too much about this one. I would want to fly! Peter Pan was a fascination for me as a child. I always wanted to be Wendy and have fairy dust sprinkled on my head, think a happy thought and fly off to Neverland. Pirates, Indians and Mermaids, what more can a girl want?

Is there anything you’d change about the country you live in?

Well, I am currently living away from home, in Germany, so there is quite a lot I would change! I would change the non-existance of queuing. It’s not even rudeness, they just don’t seem to be able to form an efficient line. The lack of Marmite on the shelves of the supermarket is disappointing (it would be more so if I hadn’t brought a 500g jar with me), as is the lack of proper tea. However, the truth is that it is a nice country and I have finally seen the charms that snow can have when it is just pretty whisps in the air and not sludge on the ground.

Favourite restaurant/food?

My favourite restaurant is probably Piero’s in my village. It is a beautiful Italian restaurant and the food and service is excellant. That’s not why I love it though. I have spent many a wonderful night there and part of the charm is the walk to and from the village, the intimate setting and sense of satisfaction that everyone leaves with. I love it.

Most inspirational person?

Can I choose two? They basically come as one person anyway. I grew up a very happy child. Maybe that’s my nature. I think it was nurture too. I grew up in a happy, loving home. I might not have had everything that I wanted but I certainly had everything I needed. No opportunity was ever passed by and even though I have gone on to do things that neither of my parents had, including living in a country they had never even been to, they have been behind me every step of the way. They just work so hard. They have made difficult decisions to take care of children or change professions. I feel like if I work hard, anything is possible. That’s because I’ve seen my parents’ work get them where they are today. I really hope all their dreams come true and I thank them for always supporting me in mine.

Why do you like to blog?

I started this blog to document my year abroad. I never imagined that anyone other than my Dad would read it. As it turns out, I am loving writing it. I enjoy sitting down to write each post and I love thinking about things that I could write about. I enjoy putting words down on paper (or on screen as it would seem) and immortalising them. I hope that I can look back in years to come at this page and remember what it was to be like in a new country: all the trials and fears, excitement and surprises.

Your earliest memory?

My earliest memory is the day after my 2nd birthday. My brother was born on my 2nd birthday, 2 weeks early and for that reason, my birthday kind of got forgotten. My parents were busy. Luckily, at 2 years old, I wasn’t really sure what a birthday was, only that I was going to get presents and I certainly wasn’t aware what day it was. The day after he was born was my birthday party, one I was sharing with a lot of friends. My parents arrived with the new baby and he was ‘cooed’ over. I’ve seen the pictures and I must admit, he was pretty cute but come on, I was two, I was cute too! Don’t you worry though, I got my moment. I remember sitting in our living room that evening and being sung Happy Birthday. “‘GEN!!” So I heard it again. “‘GEN!!” And again. And again. And again. There is a series of photographs in which the candles get shorter and shorter and the cake gets more and more covered in my two-year-old slobber. Maybe it’s the photos I remember. Either way, the memory still makes me feel pretty special.

Do you like cookies?

I LOVE cookies! For this reason, finding gluten-free varieties makes my heart flutter.

Best holiday you’ve been on?

I have been on so many wonderful holidays. Egypt was by far the most impressive, luxurious and HOT holiday I have ever been on. Every day, we saw something breaktaking. It was wonderful and it was great to have 2 weeks together as a family. My other favourite holiday is something a little different. In 2011, Ramsey and I went to the Edinburgh festival for a week. It felt like a last minute thing, although I’m not sure it was, the hotels just book up early. The hotel we ended up in was beautiful though. It rained terribly for the first half of the week and we couldn’t get tickets for Sarah Millican. That all almost made it better though. It was the most exciting, unexpected week and we did so many things together than we might never otherwise have done. We laughed more than I think I ever had and had the most wonderful time. I would highly recommend both!

Blogs I love to read

http://vegaquarium.wordpress.com/ – Although I am not a vegetarian, these recipes are too good to be missed!

http://collegesugarbaby.wordpress.com/ – An interesting way to supplement the waning student coffers!

http://sharpandkeen.wordpress.com/ – I thought I was travelling in Europe, I didn’t after reading about these wonderful adventures!

http://knitthehellout.com/ – I love knitting, crochet and generally making things. I hope one day to get somewhere close to these wonderful creations, although I’m not sure I ever will!

I only recently accepted another award and nominated and recommended some blogs and don’t want to repeat, hence the list is short. But please take a read of these great blogs and please take a look at Hayleigh’s too! Thank you once again. All that’s left to do now is ask some questions for my nominees!

1. If you could go anywhere in the world, where would it be?

2. Where do you hope to be in 10 years?

3. Marmite: Love it or hate it?

4. What is the one thing you could not live without?

5. What’s your favourite book?

Thanks once again for the nomination and I look forward to writing a more conventional post soon.

4 Comments

  1. katie

    Oh yay! thanks! I’m so excited. This is my first blogging award ever. 🙂

  2. Your totally welcome for the nomination, and thank you very much for your kind words on my blog! I’ve been to Egypt too haha, It was awesome, but I’m jealous you’ve been to Edinburgh – I’d love to go there too! x

    • Oh you should definitely go, it’s beautiful! And you are very welcome 🙂

Leave a Reply

