Emma in Euroland

Tea, Cake and Travel: a year abroad in Germany

Beauty, Light and Peace: Zitadelle Petersberg, Erfurt

A secret view over Erfurt

There is something less sinistre about early than about late. The empty streets seem less lonely, the dark inky blue sky less foreboding. There is a wonderful silence here, anywhere, early on a Sunday morning. A moment when your thoughts are loud and undeniable. It’s cleansing. Even the cathedral bells striking 7 times, seem only to enrich the quiet, deepening.

I saw the North Star today for the first time, I was so sure. She glistened out at me reassuringly and she glowed. Is it a sign?

A week ago, when feeling lost, I found a special place: Zitadelle Petersberg. I sat there quietly and I listened. It was dark then and I was fascinated by the absolute black in the east and the warm blue in the west. It was clear that the sun was there, even though I couldn’t see it. I am there again now but with a slightly different purpose. I am here to see Erfurt wake up, to see it greet the sun with grace and to see the peace it brings. There is beauty here and the sun, it rises.

A glimmer in the distance.

The inky darkness.

And the light takes over.

Modernity and heritage all in one. Who can say it is not beautiful?

 

Can you hear the Cathedral’s bells?

 

Erfurt awakens.

 

The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.

Finally overcome by light.

Erfurter Dom in the first light of day.

 

Leave a Reply

